Sir John William Dawson Medal (RSC)

Sir John William Dawson Medal (RSC)

For important contributions of knowledge in multiple domains.

The Sir John William Dawson Medal was established in 1985 by the RSC to honour the man who was its first President (1882-1883) and who was the foremost Canadian scientist and educator of his day: geologist, naturalist, teacher, author, man of religion, educational administrator and promoter of learning. The medal was endowed by McGill Graduates Society (founded by Sir William in 1857), the Henry Birks Foundation and the RSC itself, with contributions from Fellows, and staff and friends from McGill, to commemorate his term as Principal and to honour “the man who built McGill”.

To commemorate Dawson’s great versatility, the award is made for important and sustained contributions in two domains of interest to the RSC or in interdisciplinary research. The silver medal is awarded every two years if there is a suitable candidate.

Nomination package:

  • RSC Nomination form
  • Primary Nominator letter. Nominator MUST be a RSC Fellow
  • Co-nominator letters (2). Nominators do not have to be RSC Fellows
  • Citation (70 words)
  • Detailed appraisal (1000 words)
  • Referee letters (3) maximum of 3 pages long + biographical sketches (approx. 250 words)
  • CV (maximum 20 pages)

Special notes:

  • Candidates cannot apply on their own behalf.
  • Candidates shall be Canadian citizens or have had status for at least three years as Canadian Permanent Residents at the time of their nomination.
  • The packages MUST be created and submitted in a specific manner or they are automatically rejected. Ensure that submission follows this instructional guide EXACTLY.

Deadline: March 1, 2021. Offered every two years.

More information

Past IOF winners

Dr. Daniel Pauly (2017)

PICES Wooster Award

The main criteria for selection are sustained excellence in research, teaching, administration or a combination of the three in the area of North Pacific marine science. Special consideration is given to individuals who have worked in integrating the disciplines of marine science. Individuals who were or are currently actively involved in PICES activities are preferred but the award may be given to any suitable candidate, including those from outside PICES member countries.

Nominations are accepted annually from the PICES community although the award may not be given every year if a suitable candidate is not found. The Selection Committee consists of the PICES Science Board and the PICES Chairman, and the Award Presentation Ceremony takes place at an Opening Session during the PICES Annual Meeting. Individuals who are not chosen for the Wooster Award when nominated are eligible to be re-nominated, providing that the nomination documents are updated.

Deadline: Nominations for the 2019 Wooster Award, with supporting documentation, should be sent to the PICES Executive Secretary ( by MARCH 31, 2020.

PICES Ocean Monitoring Service Award (POMA)

The award is given for significant contributions to the progress of marine science in the North Pacific through long-term monitoring operations, management of data associated with ocean conditions and marine bio-resources in the region, or both categories. Recipients may include, for example, research vessels, research or administrative institutes or portions thereof, or technical groups involved in monitoring, data management and dissemination, or a combination of these activities. Outstanding individual efforts may also be recognized.

Nomination and Selection
Nominations from individuals or groups from PICES member countries should be sent with supporting documentation to the Executive Secretary ( by the deadline specified in the Call for Nominations at the PICES website. The Technical Committee on Monitoring (MONITOR) and Technical Committee on Data Exchange (TCODE) will evaluate independently the documents submitted with each nomination, and recommend some or all of the nominations for consideration by SB. Evaluations will include the relevance, duration and balance of activities (ocean observation, resource monitoring, data management, etc.). If more than one nomination is considered worthy of recognition by MONITOR or TCODE, rank preferences will be provided to SB by each Technical Committee. A maximum of one award will be given each year. To keep a large pool of potential candidates, SB will reserve any surplus of recommendations for review in subsequent years. Those nominated but not recommended by a Technical Committee must be re-submitted if they are to be considered for the next year.

Award and Presentation
The award consists of a certificate signed by the PICES Chair and the PICES SB Chair, which will be presented to the recipients (or their representative) at the Opening Session of the PICES Annual Meeting. No financial support from PICES will be provided to the recipient to attend the Annual Meeting where the award is given. Should any representative be unable to attend the Annual Meeting, a Delegate of the recipient’s country will be asked to accept the award on behalf of the recipient.

Nominations for the 2019 PICES Ocean Monitoring Service Award, with supporting documentation, should be sent to the PICES Executive Secretary ( by MARCH 31, 2020.




climate change