King Faisal Prize (Science) – King Faisal Foundation

Launched by the King Faisal Foundation (KFF) and granted for the first time in 1979, the King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) recognizes the outstanding works of individuals and institutions in five major categories: Service to Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic Language and Literature, Medicine, and Science. Its aim is to benefit Muslims in their present and future, inspire them to participate in all aspects of civilization, as well as enrich human knowledge and develop mankind. KFIP winners are evaluated only based on merit and their works are meticulously examined by specialized selection committees. The strict selection procedure meets international standards, and many of the laureates who have been awarded the prize went on to receive other prestigious prizes, such as the Nobel Prize.

Science category
The Science subcategories cover a broad scope alternating between physics, chemistry, biology and mathematics.

Prizes for Science were added in 1982 and first awarded in 1984.

One is considered qualified to win the King Faisal International Prize for Science if they have carried out and published an original scientific research on the prize’s topic, with major benefits to humanity, and meeting one or more of the prize’s objectives as determined by the respective Selection Committee.


  • An official letter of nomination for each nominee separately, adequately justifying the nomination and outlining the nominee’s achievements in the field of the prize.
  • A list of nominated works.
  • A general information form to be filled by the nominee; this form can be duplicated if more than one candidate is nominated.
  • A CV with a list of the nominee’s publications.
  • A letter of commitment to present two lectures in his/her field of specialization, at academic institutions in the event s/he is awarded the prize.
  • A copy of each nominated paper; the total number of nominated papers should not exceed ten (10).
  • A copy of each nominated book and/or book chapters; the total number of nominated books and/or book chapters should not exceed five (5). The book’s title cover should be appended with each nominated book chapter.
  • A recent colour photo of the nominee.


  • A certificate written in Arabic calligraphy featuring the laureate’s name with a brief description of the work for which s/he is awarded the Prize.
  • A commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medallion.
  • A sum of SR 750,000 (US$ 200,000).

Deadline: March 31, 2022

More information