Order of British Columbia

Any British Columbian (or former long-term resident) who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, excellence or distinction in any field. Community leadership, business, labour, industry, volunteer service, research, culture, the arts, sports… the possibilities are nearly endless.

The Order of British Columbia was established by statute on April 21, 1989, to recognize those persons who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the Province or elsewhere. The Order represents the highest form of recognition the Province can extend to its citizens. The Order will be bestowed on the most outstanding British Columbians possessing the above qualifications annually.

Members of the Order of B.C. receive a medal, which consists of a stylistic dogwood, the floral emblem of British Columbia and also features a crowned shield of arms. It is worn with a green, gold, white and blue ribbon. Members also receive a Certificate of Appointment. Members have the right to place the letters O.B.C. after their names.

Deadline: First Friday of March

The 2023 deadline is April 11, 2023

More information

Past IOF winners

Dr. Carl Walters (2019)