AFS Fellows Program

American Fisheries Society

AFS designates as Fellows of the Society certain members who have made outstanding or meritorious contributions to the diversity of fields that are included in the American Fisheries Society. Contributions can include, but are not restricted to, efforts in leadership, research, teaching and mentoring, resource management and/or conservation, and outreach/interaction with the public.

Any current regular member of AFS who has been a regular member of AFS for at least five (5) consecutive years is eligible to be nominated to be an AFS Fellow. For these purposes, a regular member is defined as a non-student, dues-paying member or Life Member.

A nominee is expected to have been a member of the profession for at least fifteen (15) years. This may be time since the PhD degree, but in cases where the PhD degree is not the terminal degree, it can be interpreted as after attaining the terminal degree.

Demonstrated excellence of contributions to one or several of the following areas: (1) research and discovery, (2) communication and outreach, education and pedagogy, (3) application of fisheries science to management and/or policy, (4) leadership and/or advancement of the profession.

AFS Presidents will automatically become Fellows upon their procession to past-president, if they are not Fellows already.

Nomination package:

  • The nomination of an individual to be an AFS Fellow can be made by any three members of AFS.
  • A curriculum vitae of at most four (4) pages. It is suggested that the vita include evidence of outstanding contributions as outlined under the eligibility criteria.
  • Maximum two letters of recommendation, which may come from anyone, including nominators and non-members.
  • A narrative of 50 or fewer words proposed for use if the nominee is selected to be a Fellow.

Deadline: April 1, 2022

More information

Past IOF winners

Villy Christensen (2022)
Daniel Pauly (2015)