Award of Excellence (AFS)

American Fisheries Society

The Society’s highest award for scientific achievement is presented to a living AFS member for original and/or outstanding contributions to fisheries and aquatic biology. The award consists of a bronze medal, a plaque, and honorarium.


  • A monumental work, or
  • Original techniques or research methods, or
  • New, fresh ideas, viewpoints, or data which contribute remarkable to conservation management or basic understanding of aquatic resources, or
  • A new successfully executed fishery research or management program of national or international importance or
  • Imaginative an successful programs in fish conservation, education at any level of teaching or graduate student guidance, or
  • Important faunal or ecological discoveries or new taxonomic criteria, or
  • Research especially beneficial to mankind, or
  • Interdisciplinary research involving leadership in team efforts in the laboratory or field, or
  • Multiple successful efforts in a variety of field such as biology, public understanding, technical and popular writing, laboratory and filed research, inspiration leadership, enunciation of principles.

Nomination package:

  • A detailed letter of nomination to address award criteria,
  • vitae of nominee
  • additional supporting materials as needed.

Deadline: April 1, 2021

More information

Past IOF winners

Villy Christensen (2020)
Carl Walters (2006)
Daniel Pauly (2004)
Peter Larkin (1983)