Faculty award opportunities

February 2020

Eminence in Research Award (International Society for Reef Studies)

For outstanding body of research by ISRS member over an extended period of time. Deadline: February 15 annually

Darwin Medal (International Society for Reef Studies)

For major scientific contributions of a senior ISRS member, throughout their career. Deadline: February 15 annually

Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Early or mid-career academics, applied researchers and/or professionals with research experience in the public, non-profit, or private sector Deadline: February

March 2020

Willet G. Miller Medal

For outstanding research in the solid earth sciences and a second in the ocean and atmospheric sciences. Deadline: March 1, 2020.

John C. Polanyi Award – NSERC

A university researcher or team of researchers whose work has led to a recent outstanding Canadian advance in a field of the natural sciences or engineering. Deadline: March 1, 2019

Herzberg Medal – NSERC

For both the sustained excellence and overall influence of a body of work conducted in Canada in the natural sciences or engineering. Deadline: March 1, 2019

Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (RSC)

For scientific work relating to environmental problems. Deadline: March 1, 2020

Order of British Columbia

Any British Columbian who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, excellence or distinction in any field. Deadline: First Friday in March; March 6, 2020

L’Oréal/UNESCO Women in Science – Canada National Fellowship

For female PhD students and Post-Docs in Canada. Deadline: March 22, 2020

Timothy R. Parsons Medal (DFO Canada)

Awarded for distinguished accomplishments in multidisciplinary facets of ocean sciences while working for Canadian Institutions or for the benefit of Canadian science. Deadline: March 31

A.G. Huntsman Award (Royal Society of Canada)

To recognize excellence of research and outstanding contributions to marine sciences by marine scientists near the midpoint of their careers. LOI Deadline: 31 March 2020

King Faisal International Prize (Science) – King Faisal Foundation

For original scientific research in physics, chemistry, biology and/or mathematics, with major benefits to humanity Deadline: March 31, 2020

PICES Ocean Monitoring Service Award (POMA)

For significant contributions to the progress of marine science in the North Pacific through long-term monitoring operations, management of data associated with ocean conditions and/or marine bio-resources in the region. Deadline: MARCH 31, 2020.

April 2020

President’s Fishery Conservation Award, (AFS)

Given annually, by the American Fisheries Society, to an individual or organization for a singular accomplishment or long-term contributions that advance aquatic resource conservation at a regional or local level. Deadline: April 1, 2020

William E. Ricker Resource Conservation Award (AFS)

Given annually, if warranted, by the American Fisheries Society, to an individual or organization for a singular accomplishment or long-term contributions that advance aquatic resource conservation at a national or international level. Deadline: April 1, 2020

Award for Excellence in Public Outreach (AFS)

Sharing the value of fisheries science/research with the general public through the popular media and other communication channels. Deadline: April 1, 2020

Award of Excellence (AFS)

American Fisheries Society's highest award for scientific achievement is presented to a living AFS member for original and/or outstanding contributions to fisheries and aquatic biology. Deadline: April 1, 2020

Fellows of the Society (AFS)

Members who have made outstanding or meritorious contributions to the diversity of fields that are included in the American Fisheries Society. Deadline: April 1, 2020

Carl R. Sullivan Fishery Conservation Award (AFS)

For outstanding contributions to the conservation of fishery resources. Deadline: April 1, 2020

AAAS Fellowship

AAAS member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished, and who has been a continuous member for the four-year period leading up to the year of nomination Deadline: April 29, 2020, 11:59 p.m. EST.

May 2020

Outstanding Achievement Award (ICES)

For continued commitment to excellence in endeavours of science, research, and leadership. Deadline: usually in May

Ramon Margalef Prize in Ecology

For can exceptional scientific career or discovery in the field of ecology or other environmental science. Deadline: May 15, 2020

Year-round nominations

Order of Canada

The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Deadline: Submissions can be made at any time