Japan Prize

The Japan Prize is awarded annually to scientists and engineers from around the world who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology, thereby furthering the cause of peace and prosperity of mankind.

Each year two fields of scientific endeavour are honoured. The Japan Prize laureates receive a certificate of merit and a prize medal. A cash prize of 50 million yen is also awarded for each prize field.

Deadline: January 31, 2021

Eligible Fields for the Japan Prize between 2021 to 2023

Below are the fields eligible for the Japan Prize that have been decided for the two research areas. The fields rotate in a three year cycle.


Physics, Chemistry, Informatics, Engineering – Eligible Fields Year Life Science, Agriculture, Medicine – Eligible Fields
Resources, Energy, Environment, Social Infrastructure 2021 Medical Science, Medicinal Science
Materials, Production 2022 Biological Production, Ecology / Environment
Electronics, Information, Communication 2023 Life Science


More information

Past IOF winners

Timothy R. Parsons (2000), in Marine Biology.