AAAS Fellowship

An AAAS member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four-year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council.

Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups. AAAS encourages diverse nominations that include a fair representation of women, minorities and persons with disabilities. Fellows are expected to uphold the commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Requirements for Sponsors:

  • Fellow nominations may be made by:
    • 1) the Steering Groups of the Association’s 24 sections
    • 2) any three previously elected Fellows who are current AAAS members,
      so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution
    • 3) the Chief Executive Officer
  • No Fellow may serve as a sponsor on more than two 3-Fellow nominations in any given year.
  • Only one of the three sponsors may be affiliated with the same institution as that of the nominee.
  • Reminder for 2019: Each sponsor must also complete, sign and submit the “AAAS 3-Fellow Letter of Recommendation Addendum” with their letter of support. Letters of support without addendums will not be considered.

Requirement for Nominees:

  • Eligibility for nomination requires an individual to have been a continuous member (with no lapses in membership) of AAAS since December 31, 2016 or earlier. Members who joined after the December 31, 2016 cutoff date are not eligible for the 2020 cycle.

You are strongly encouraged to submit the nomination packet well ahead of the deadline. If you submit a complete packet by April 1 the AAAS office will be able to check for completion and let you know whether there are any missing components. This will allow you time to correct any mistakes before the deadline.

Deadline: April 20, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern time.

More information

Past IOF winners

Dr. Daniel Pauly (2014)