Faculty Awards

January 2018

Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies Wall Scholars Research Award

Open to is early to mid-career scholars, as well as senior researchers. January 5, 2018 at 4:00 pm PST

Volvo Environment Prize

One of the scientific world’s most respected environmental prizes. Deadline: January 10

Eminence in Research Award (International Society for Reef Studies)

For outstanding body of research by ISRS member over an extended period of time. Deadline: January 15

Paz Buttedahl Career Achievement Award (CUFA BC)

For sustained outstanding contributions to the community through research or other scholarly activities. Deadline: January 26, 2018

Early in Career Award (CUFA BC)

The Early in Career Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by scholars at relatively early stages in their careers. Deadline: January 26, 2018

Ehor Boyanowsky Academic of the Year Award (CUFA BC)

Recognizes a specific and recent outstanding contribution to the community through research or other scholarly activity by an individual/group at any stage of their career. Deadline: January 26, 2018

Early Career Awards (CSEE)

Recognizes outstanding accomplishments and promising future research potential in ecology and evolution by scientists early in their career. Deadline: January 26, 2018

Croonian Medal and Lecture (Royal Society of London)

This prize lecture is the premier lecture in the biological sciences and is delivered annually at the Royal Society in London. Deadline: 18.00 GMT on 29 January 2018

Copley Medal (Royal Society of London)

For outstanding achievements in research in any branch of science, though it alternates between the physical and biological sciences (odd and even years respectively). Deadline: 18.00 GMT on 29 January 2018

Darwin Medal (International Society for Reef Studies)

For major scientific contributions of a senior ISRS member, throughout their career. Deadline: January 15, 2019

February 2018

Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Early or mid-career academics, applied researchers and/or professionals with research experience in the public, non-profit, or private sector Deadline: February

March 2018

Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (RSC)

For scientific work relating to environmental problems. Deadline: March 1

Sir John William Dawson Medal (RSC)

To recognize important contributions of knowledge in multiple domains. Deadline: March 1

Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award (Society for Conservation Biology)

For a leader in translating principles of conservation biology into real-world conservation Deadline: March 17

Order of British Columbia

Any British Columbian who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, excellence or distinction in any field. Deadline: first Friday in March

Timothy R. Parsons Medal (DFO Canada)

Awarded for distinguished accomplishments in multidisciplinary facets of ocean sciences while working for Canadian Institutions or for the benefit of Canadian science. UPDATED Deadline: March 31

Year-round nominations

Order of Canada

The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Deadline: Submissions can be made at any time