Faculty and Staff

The IOF is home to an extensive community of researchers and trainees whose collective expertise ranges across zoology, economics, marine geochemistry, resource management, anthropology and sociology, marine and aquatic ecology, international law, and public policy. Our administrative and technical staff provide IOF members with effective operations, communications, IT, financial, and administrative support.

We are actively seeking collaborators across UBC and beyond, including governments, coastal communities, non-profit organizations, and peer institutions. Please contact our <Director> to discuss potential research partnerships or collaborations.


Faculty & Staff Directory

Director

Dr Evgeny Pakhomov
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
e.pakhomov@oceans.ubc.ca


Faculty

Dr Marie Auger-Méthé
Assistant Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Statistics
auger-methe@stat.ubc.ca


Dr Tom Carruthers
Assistant Professor; Quantitative Modeling Group
t.carruthers@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Kai Chan
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability
Canada Research Chair (Tier 2, Biodiversity & Ecosystem Services)
kaichan@ires.ubc.ca


Dr William Cheung
Associate Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Canada Research Chair (Tier 2, Ocean Sustainability and Global Change)
Director, Changing Ocean Research Unit
Director (Science), NF-UBC Nereus Program
w.cheung@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Villy Christensen
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Director, Global Ocean Modeling
v.christensen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Simon Donner
Associate Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Geography
simon.donner@ubc.ca


Dr Christopher Harley
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
c.harley@oceans.ubc.ca
On sabbatical


Dr Brian Hunt
Assistant Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
UBC Hakai Professor in Oceanography
b.hunt@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Murdoch McAllister
Associate Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Canada Research Chair in Fisheries Assessment, UBC
Director, Quantitative Modeling Group
m.mcallister@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Charles Menzies
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Anthropology
Director, Ethnographic Film Unit at UBC
charles.menzies@ubc.ca


Dr Evgeny Pakhomov
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
e.pakhomov@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Daniel Pauly
UBC Killam Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
Director, Sea Around Us
d.pauly@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Tony Pitcher
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
Director, Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries
t.pitcher@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Rashid Sumaila
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Director, Fisheries Economics Research Unit
Director, OceanCanada Partnership
r.sumaila@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Curtis Suttle
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
suttle@science.ubc.ca


Dr Andrew Trites
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
Director, Marine Mammal Research Unit
a.trites@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Amanda Vincent
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Director, Project Seahorse
a.vincent@oceans.ubc.ca


Professors Emeriti/Emeritae

Dr Dianne Newell
Professor Emerita; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of History
d.newell@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Carl Walters
Professor Emeritus; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
c.walters@oceans.ubc.ca


Honorary Faculty

Dr George Rose
Professor and Fisheries Conservation Chair, Marine Institute (Newfoundland), Memorial University of Newfoundland


Dr Jordan Rosenfeld
Aquatic Scientist, Applied Freshwater Research Unit, BC Ministry of Environment
j.rosenfeld@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Brett van Poorten
Senior Aquatic Scientist, Applied Freshwater Research Unit, BC Ministry of Environment
b.vanpoorten@oceans.ubc.ca


Research Faculty

Dr Nathan J. Bennett
Research Associate, OceanCanada Partnership
n.bennett@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Andrés Cisneros-Montemayor
Research Associate, NF-UBC Nereus Program
a.cisneros@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Vicky Lam
Research Associate, NF-UBC Nereus Program
Program Manager, NF-UBC Nereus Program
v.lam@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Maria (Deng) Palomares
Research Associate; Sea Around Us
Program Manager; Sea Around Us
m.palomares@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr David Rosen
Research Associate, Marine Mammal Research Unit
d.rosen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Mei Sato
Research Associate, Marine Mammal Research Unit
m.sato@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Wilf Swartz
Research Associate, NF-UBC Nereus Program
w.swartz@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Louise Teh
Research Associate, Fisheries Economics Research Unit
l.teh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Lydia Teh
Research Associate; Changing Ocean Research Unit
lydia.teh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Colette Wabnitz
Research Associate; NF-UBC Nereus Program
c.wabnitz@oceans.ubc.ca


Associate Faculty

Dr Ratana Chuenpagdee
Associated Faculty; Canada Research Chair in Natural Resource Sustainability and Community Development, Memorial University


Dr Gordon R. Munro
Associated Faculty; Professor Emeritus, Vancouver School of Economics, University of British Columbia


Dr Rosemary Ommer
Associated Faculty; Adjunct Professor, Department of History, University of Victoria


Affiliate Faculty

Dr Megan Bailey
Affiliate Assistant Professor


Dr Simon Courtenay
Affiliate Professor


Dr Mimi Lam
Affiliate Assistant Professor; Bergen University
m.lam@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Yoshido Ota
Affiliate Assistant Professor


Dr Dirk Zeller
Affiliate Professor; Sea Around Us
d.zeller@oceans.ubc.ca


Adjunct Faculty

Dr Jackie Alder
Adjunct Professor, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)


Joe Bauer
Adjunct Professor, (Retired BC Fisherman)


Dr John K.B. Ford
Adjunct Professor, Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Robyn Forrest
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Michael Grigg
Adjunct Professor; U.S. National Institutes of Health’s Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases


Dr Martin Haulena
Adjunct Professor, Vancouver Aquarium, Vancouver, British Columbia


Dr Douglas E. Hay
Adjunct Professor, Pacific Biological Station (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr Margot Hessing-Lewis
Adjunct Professor, Hakai Institute


Dr Jacquelynne King
Adjunct Professor; Pacific Biological Station


Dr Josh Korman
Adjunct Professor; Ecometric Research


Dr Steve Martell
Adjunct Professor; International Pacific Halibut Commission


Dr Steve McAdam
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment


Dr Eric Parkinson
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment


Dr Isobel Pearsall
Adjunct Professor; Strait of Georgia Data Centre


Dr R. Ian Perry
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Stephen Raverty
Adjunct Professor, BC Ministry of Agriculture and Lands, Animal Health Centre


Dr Laura Richards
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emerita)


Dr Jon Schnute
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr Daniel Selbie
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Alan Sinclair
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr John Stockner
Adjunct Professor; Eco-Logic Ltd.


Dr Art Tautz
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr Mark Zacharias
Adjunct Professor; Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Sustainability and Policy Division, BC Ministry of Environment


Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Juan Jose Alava
Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Changing Ocean Research Unit
j.alava@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Joey Bernhardt
Postdoctoral Fellow; Changing Oceans Research Unit


Dr Oai Li Chen
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-Nereus Program
o.chen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Fernanda Colo Gianni
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Laboratory
f.cologiannini@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr David Costalago Meruelo
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Laboratory
d.costalago@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Hayley Dosser
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Laboratory


Dr Boris Espinasse
Postdoctoral Fellow; EOAS/IOF
b.espinasse@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Jessica Garzke
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystem Lab
j.garzke@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Adrian Hordyk
Postdoctoral Fellow; Quantitative Modelling Group
a.hordyk@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Quang Huynh
Postdoctoral Fellow; Quantitative Modelling Group
q.huynh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Vijay Kumar
Postdoctoral Fellow; Villy Christensen
v.kumar@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Jacqueline Maud
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Lab
j.maud@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Sean Naman
Postdoctoral Fellow; Applied Freshwater Fisheries Research Unit
namans@mail.ubc.ca


Dr Robert Parker
NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow; Fisheries Economic Research Unit
r.parker@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Gabriel Reygondeau
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-UBC Nereus Program
g.reygondeau@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Caterina Rodriguez Giner
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Lab
c.giner@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Gerald Singh
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-UBC Nereus Program
g.singh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Wade Smith
Postdoctoral Fellow; Pelagic Ecosystems Lab
w.smith@oceans.ubc.ca


Honorary Research Associates

Dr Dalal Al-Abdulrazzak
Honorary Research Associate; Sea Around Us [Ocean Wise]


Dr. Lucas Brotz
Honorary Research Associate; Sea Around Us


Dr Eny Buchary
Honorary Research Associate; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries [Stockholm Resilience Centre]


Dr Janelle Curtis
Honorary Research Associate; Project Seahorse [Pacific Biological Station, Fisheries & Oceans Canada]


Dr Sarah Foster
Honorary Research Associate; Project Seahorse [David Suzuki Foundation – SeaChoice]


Dr Sylvie Guénette
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group [EcOceans Canada]


Dr Russ Jones
Honorary Research Associate; Aboriginal Fisheries Research Unit


Dr Michael Melnychuk
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group [University of Washington]


Dr Gabriel Wagey
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group


Research Staff

Rebecca Barrick
Research Assistant, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Regina Bestbier
Research Assistant, Project Seahorse
r.bestbier@oceans.ubc.ca


Brianna Cairns
Research Assistant, MMRU


Marin Dieth
Research Assistant, Murdoch Macallister


Brittany Derrick
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
b.derrick@oceans.ubc.ca


Naazia Ebrahim
Research Analyst, FERU


Johanna Fee
Student Employee, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Krista Greer
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
k.greer@oceans.ubc.ca


Robert Marshall
Research Assistant, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Simon-Luc Noël
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
s.noel@oceans.ubc.ca


Alyssa Nonis
Academic Assistant to Jordan Rosenfeld


Lauren Portner
Research Assistant, Brian Hunt


Raphael Roman
Research Assistant, FERU


Ljiljana (Lily) Stanton
Research Assistant, Project Seahorse
l.stanton@oceans.ubc.ca


Gordon Tsui
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
g.tsui@oceans.ubc.ca


Jessika Woroniak
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
j.woroniak@oceans.ubc.ca


Katie Zinn
Academic Assistant to Jordan Rosenfeld


IOF Staff

Neil Maclean
Manager, Administration & Operations, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
n.maclean@oceans.ubc.ca


Katherine Came
Communications Manager, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
k.came@oceans.ubc.ca


Mateo Coric
Finance Coordinator, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
m.coric@oceans.ubc.ca


Duncan Burnside
Web/Data Manager, OceanCanada
d.burnside@oceans.ubc.ca


Eden Fellner
IOF Administrative Assistant
e.fellner@oceans.ubc.ca


Scott Finestone
Operations Manager, Project Seahorse
s.finestone@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Anne Marie Goodfellow
Project Coordinator, OceanCanada
a.goodfellow@oceans.ubc.ca


Renee La Roi
Website Design & Development, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Pamela Rosenbaum
Manager, Marine Mammal Research Unit
p.rosenbaum@oceans.ubc.ca


Valentina Ruiz Leotaud
Communications Officer, Sea Around Us Program
v.ruizleotaud@oceans.ubc.ca


Tomoka Sweet
Program Administrator, NF-UBC Nereus Program
t.sweet@oceans.ubc.ca


Dominika Ziemczonek
Program Coordinator, Ocean Leaders
d.ziemczonek@oceans.ubc.ca