Faculty and Staff

The IOF is home to an extensive community of researchers and trainees whose collective expertise ranges across zoology, economics, marine geochemistry, resource management, anthropology and sociology, marine and aquatic ecology, international law, and public policy. Our administrative and technical staff provide IOF members with effective operations, communications, IT, financial, and administrative support.

We are actively seeking collaborators across UBC and beyond, including governments, coastal communities, non-profit organizations, and peer institutions. Please contact our <Director> to discuss potential research partnerships or collaborations.


Faculty & Staff Directory

Director

Dr Evgeny Pakhomov
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
e.pakhomov@oceans.ubc.ca


Assistant Director

Dr George Iwama
Adjunct Professor; Department of Zoology and Faculty of Land and Food Systems
george.iwama@ubc.ca


Faculty

Dr Kai Chan
Professor; Canada Research Chair (Tier 2, Biodiversity & Ecosystem Services); Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability
kaichan@ires.ubc.ca


Dr William Cheung
Associate Professor; Changing Ocean Research Unit; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries; Director (Science), NF-UBC Nereus Program
w.cheung@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Villy Christensen
Professor; Global Ocean Modeling
v.christensen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Simon Donner
Associate Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Geography
simon.donner@ubc.ca


Dr Christopher Harley
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
c.harley@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Brian Hunt
Assistant Professor; UBC Hakai Professor in Oceanography
Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
b.hunt@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr George Iwama
Assistant Director; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Adjunct Professor; Department of Zoology and Faculty of Land and Food Systems
george.iwama@ubc.ca


Dr Murdoch McAllister
Associate Professor; Quantitative Modeling Group; Canada Research Chair in Fisheries Assessment, UBC;  Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
m.mcallister@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Charles Menzies
Professor; Director, Ethnographic Film Unit at UBC; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries and Department of Anthropology
charles.menzies@ubc.ca


Dr Dianne Newell
Professor Emerita; post-retirement appointment to the Institute for the Oceans & Fisheries and (Professor Emerita) Department of History
d.newell@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Evgeny Pakhomov
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
e.pakhomov@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Daniel Pauly
UBC Killam Professor; Sea Around Us; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
d.pauly@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Tony Pitcher
Professor; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
t.pitcher@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Rashid Sumaila
Professor, Fisheries Economics Research Unit; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
r.sumaila@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Curtis Suttle
Professor; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
suttle@science.ubc.ca


Dr Andrew Trites
Professor; Marine Mammal Research Unit
a.trites@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Amanda Vincent
Professor; Project Seahorse; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
a.vincent@oceans.ubc.ca


Professors Emeriti/Emeritae

Dr Carl Walters
Professor Emeritus; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries & Department of Zoology
c.walters@oceans.ubc.ca


Research Faculty

Dr Tom Carruthers
Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group
t.carruthers@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Andrés Cisneros-Montemayor
Research Associate, NF-UBC Nereus Program
a.cisneros@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Sarah Foster
Research Associate; Project Seahorse
s.foster@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Mimi E Lam
Research Associate; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries
m.lam@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Yoshitaka Ota
Research Associate; NF-UBC Nereus Program
y.ota@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Maria Palomares
Research Associate; Sea Around Us
m.palomares@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr David Rosen
Research Associate, Marine Mammal Research Unit
d.rosen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Louise Teh
Research Associate, Fisheries Economics Research Unit
l.teh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Lydia Teh
Research Associate; Changing Ocean Research Unit
lydia.teh@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Dirk Zeller
Research Associate; Sea Around Us
d.zeller@oceans.ubc.ca


Associate Faculty

Dr Ratana Chuenpagdee
Associated Faculty; Canada Research Chair in Natural Resource Sustainability and Community Development, Memorial University


Dr Gordon R. Munro
Associated Faculty; Professor Emeritus, Vancouver School of Economics, University of British Columbia


Dr Rosemary Ommer
Associated Faculty; Adjunct Professor, Department of History, University of Victoria


Adjunct Faculty

Dr Jackie Alder
Adjunct Professor, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)


Joe Bauer
Adjunct Professor, (Retired BC Fisherman)


Dr John K.B. Ford
Adjunct Professor, Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Robyn Forrest
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Michael Grigg
Adjunct Professor; U.S. National Institutes of Health’s Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases


Dr Martin Haulena
Adjunct Professor, Vancouver Aquarium, Vancouver, British Columbia


Dr Douglas E. Hay
Adjunct Professor, Pacific Biological Station (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr Jacquelynne King
Adjunct Professor; Pacific Biological Station


Dr Josh Korman
Adjunct Professor; Ecometric Research


Dr Steve Martell
Adjunct Professor; International Pacific Halibut Commission


Dr Steve McAdam
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment


Dr Eric Parkinson
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment


Dr Isobel Pearsall
Adjunct Professor; Strait of Georgia Data Centre


Dr R. Ian Perry
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada


Dr Stephen Raverty
Adjunct Professor, BC Ministry of Agriculture and Lands, Animal Health Centre


Dr Laura Richards
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emerita)


Dr Jon Schnute
Adjunct Professor; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emeritus)


Alan Sinclair
Adjunct Faculty; Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr John Stockner
Adjunct Professor; Eco-Logic Ltd.


Dr Art Tautz
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment (Scientist Emeritus)


Dr Brett Van Poorten
Adjunct Professor; BC Ministry of Environment


Dr Mark Zacharias
Adjunct Professor; Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Sustainability and Policy Division, BC Ministry of Environment


Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Juan Jose Alava
Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Changing Ocean Research Unit
j.alava@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Dalal Al-Abdulrazzak
Postdoctoral Fellow; Sea Around Us
d.alabdulrazzak@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr. Lucas Brotz
Postdoctoral Fellow; Sea Around Us
l.brotz@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Oai Li Chen
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-Nereus Program
o.chen@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Tyler Eddy
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-Nereus Program
t.eddy@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Rajeev Kumar
Postdoctoral Fellow; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries
r.kumar@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Vicky Lam
Postdoctoral Fellow; Sea Around Us; NF-UBC Nereus Program
v.lam@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Gabriel Reygondeau
Postdoctoral Fellow; NF-UBC Nereus Program
g.reygondeau@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr. Anna Schuhbauer
Postdoctoral Fellow; Fisheries Economic Research Unit
a.schuhbauer@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Wade Smith
Postdoctoral Fellow; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries
w.smith@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Divya Varkey
Postdoctoral Fellow; Quantitative Modeling Group; Freshwater Fisheries Society of BC
d.varkey@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr Colette Wabnitz
Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Changing Oceans Research Unit
c.wabnitz@oceans.ubc.ca


Honorary Research Associates

Dr Eny Buchary
Honorary Research Associate; Policy & Ecosystem Restoration in Fisheries [Stockholm Resilience Centre]


Dr Janelle Curtis
Honorary Research Associate; Project Seahorse [Pacific Biological Station, Fisheries & Oceans Canada]


Dr Sylvie Guénette
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group [EcOceans Canada]


Dr Russ Jones
Honorary Research Associate; Aboriginal Fisheries Research Unit


Dr Michael Melnychuk
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group [University of Washington]


Dr Jordan Rosenfeld
Honorary Research Associate [BC Ministry of Environment]


Dr Tonny Wagey
Honorary Research Associate; Quantitative Modeling Group


Dr Lucy Woodall
Honorary Research Associate; Project Seahorse [Natural History Museum]


Dr Mai Yasue
Honorary Research Associate; Project Seahorse [Quest University Canada]
m.yasue@oceans.ubc.ca


Research Assistants

Rebecca Barrick
Research Assistant, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Regina Bestbier
Research Assistant, Project Seahorse
r.bestbier@oceans.ubc.ca


Tim Cashion
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
t.cashion@oceans.ubc.ca


Amy Coghlan
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
a.coghlan@oceans.ubc.ca


Angelina Coulter
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
a.coulter@oceans.ubc.ca


Brittany Derrick
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
b.derrick@oceans.ubc.ca


Darcy Dunstan
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
d.dunstan@oceans.ubc.ca


Krista Greer
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
k.greer@oceans.ubc.ca


Lincoln Hood
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
l.hood@oceans.ubc.ca


Robert Marshall
Research Assistant, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Riley Pollom
Research Assistant, Project Seahorse
r.pollom@oceans.ubc.ca


Sarah Popov
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
s.popov@oceans.ubc.ca


Eric Sy
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
e.sy@oceans.ubc.ca


Gordon Tsui
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
g.tsui@oceans.ubc.ca


Maeve Winchester
Research Assistant, Sea Around Us
m.winchester@oceans.ubc.ca


Administrative and Support Staff

Marina Skinner
Administrative Manager, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
On Leave.


Jason Winkler
Senior Administrative Manager, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Jason.winkler@oceans.ubc.ca


Katherine Came
Communications Manager, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
k.came@oceans.ubc.ca


Mateo Coric
Finance Coordinator, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
m.coric@oceans.ubc.ca


Scott Finestone
Operations Manager, Project Seahorse
s.finestone@oceans.ubc.ca


Dr. Anne Marie Goodfellow
Project Coordinator, OceanCanada
a.goodfellow@oceans.ubc.ca


Lindsay Lafreniere
Communications Officer, NF-UBC Nereus Program
l.lafreniere@oceans.ubc.ca


Renee La Roi
Website Design & Development, Marine Mammal Research Unit


Pamela Rosenbaum
Manager, Marine Mammal Research Unit
p.rosenbaum@oceans.ubc.ca


Tomoka Sweet
Program Administrator, NF-UBC Nereus Program
t.sweet@oceans.ubc.ca


Dayna Szule
Administration and Financial Support, Sea Around Us
On Leave.